Bless this house

Hi there. Thanks for popping in!

My family and I left our sold family home of 5 years this afternoon, to start a new chapter in our lives.

As Gavin was finishing loading the truck, I grabbed Hamish to go through the house. We started in the garage, walked through the lounge into the kitchen and dining into the laundry, onto Cait’s room, my craft room, Hamish’s room and the 2 way bathroom into the main bedroom. Hamish and I prayed a blessing for the new owners, that they would love the home as much as we did and it would continue to be a wonderful family home for them. 

As I was walking through the house, a blessing that my Nana used to have in her home (on a plaque), came to my mind and I thought I would share it with you. I have often thought about it over the years. My Nana died soon after my family and I arrived in Australia 5 1/2 years ago, I was just so devastated as she was like a Mum to me! As well as a good friend! And shopping companion! 🙂 I have always wondered what happened to her plaque.

You may know it. 

Bless this house, Oh Lord we pray, Make it safe both night and day, Bless these walls so firm and stout, Keeping want and trouble out

Bless the roof and chimneys tall, Let thy peace lie over all, Bless this door that it may prove, Ever open to joy and love

Bless these windows shining bright, Letting in God’s heavenly light, Bless the hearth, a-blazing there, With smoke ascending like a prayer

Bless the people here within, Keep them pure and free from sin, Bless us all that we may be, Fit Oh Lord to dwell with thee.

Thanks again for stopping in! Take care and I will be in touch again very soon!

Blessings upon you and your house!

Lisa 🙂

Leave a Reply

